Experience

The examples of LAMBERET and GIRARD-AGEDISS illustrate the ability of ARCOLE INDUSTRIES to effectively assist its subsidiaries in turning around and solidly developing again.

LAMBERET

The European leader in the manufacturing of refrigerated vehicles, with a range adapted to all means of transport from 1 to 100m3.

GIRARD AGEDISS

The #1 French delivery company for furniture and bulky or heavy goods, for the professional, the individual and the websurfer.

PHENIX

Leader on the French market for post-disaster interventions (decontamination of both households and industries, property restoration, leak detections, technical drying).

INDUSTRIAL VEHICLE

LAMBERET

The takeover by ARCOLE INDUSRIES was supported by nearly 80% of the employees

The LAMBERET group specializes in manufacturing refrigerated vehicles (semi-trailers, carriers and light vehicles). The group filed for bankrupcy following the mid-2008 crisis, when the group’s sales collapsed from € 200 million to less than € 75 million.

In April 2009, all the groups' activities in Europe, including the production sites of Saint-Cyr-sur-Menthon and Sarreguemines, as well as the German, Italian and Spanish subsidiaries, were taken over at the commercial Court of Bourg-en-Bresse by ARCOLE INDUSTRIES, with CARAVELLE as co-investor. Supported by nearly 80% of the employees, ARCOLE INDUSTRIES’s offer allowed to save 775 jobs out of the 1,100 of the group.

Full turnaround and recapitalisation The turnaround was led by André Lebrun, President, and Erick Méjean, Chief Executive Officer. It included resizing the workforce, making the products more reliable, segmenting the offering in a new manner, leading an original communication campaign that was a great success, simplifying the hierarchical structures, as well as, on the industrial front, optimizing the production processes. This made it possible for Lamberet to become an agile player on its market again, which was a key to success. The restructuring of the foreign subsidiaries, which were suffering from very serious losses, also took place in parallel. With ARCOLE INDUSTRIES and CARAVELLE as co-investors, LAMBERET benefited from a € 12 million capital increase, and an additional € 9 million current account.

Positive operating margin in less than a year

These measures quickly helped LAMBERET to regain the trust of its different partners (suppliers, distributors, customers). In less than a year, the company was profit making again, which enabled it to start growing again and develop new products.

United around a real business project, the teams have written in a few years among the most beautiful pages in the history of the company. The company has thus strongly grown from 2010 and has gained numerous awards and honours.

Awards and honours for the LAMBERET group

LAMBERET received the TRAILER AWARD at the Courtrai show in 2010, the INNOVATION AWARD at the Solutrans show in Lyon in 2011, and the TRAILER INNOVATION AWARD at the IAA exhibition held in Hanover in 2012. This was the first time a French manufacturer received the prestigious TRAILER INNOVATION AWARD for one of its vehicles.

Erick Méjean, Managing Director of LAMBERET, was awarded the 2012 prize “MANAGER of the YEAR” of the Region Rhone-Alpes during the ceremony of the BFM Awards in Lyon. LAMBERET's 2014 consolidated revenue amounted to €140 million, compared to €70 million in 2009, of which more than 50% was generated by exports.

Divestment

In early 2015, LAMBERET was sold to an industrial player, in order to make it possible for LAMBERET to accelerate its development on an international level.

SPECIALIZED TRANSPORTATION

GIRARD-AGEDISS

The takeover by ARCOLE INDUSTRIES saved 622 jobs out of 836

The GIRARD-AGEDISS Group is a logistician specialized in the transport of furniture and bulky goods to B-to-B and B-to-C clients. The group had to file for bankrupcy in 2010, following the bankruptcy of CAMIF, one of its first customers. The bankruptcy was also due to a new transport plan, which had generated many quality problems, causing many clients to leave.

In June 2010, all the group's activities were taken over by ARCOLE INDUSTRIES at the Commercial Court of La Roche sur Yon, enabling 622 out of the group's 836 jobs to be saved.

Trust in the future following the significant capitalization of the group

In order to provide it with sufficient financial resources and to regain the trust of its various partners (suppliers, customers), ARCOLE INDUSTRIES and FCDE have subscribed to a € 11 million capital increase.

Social, organizational and cost reduction components

After this financial measure, the turnaround of the company consisted in:
- social measures (resizing of the workforce to put it in line with the level of activity);
- Organizational measures (implementation of a pragmatic transport plan);
- Cost reduction measures.

Back to profitability within 15 months

These four sets of measures enabled GIRARD-AGEDISS to generate positive results within 15 months and start growing again, by acquiring new customers and expanding its range of services.

In 2012, the GIRARD-AGEDISS group reached € 45 million turnover, and was generating benefits.
In 2013, GIRARD-AGEDISS took over the activities of SLS and strengthened its position in the delivery of furniture and bulky goods to B-to-C clients.

French leader on its market

In 2015, with an annual turnover of nearly € 70 million, GIRARD-AGEDISS became the French leader in the delivery of bulky goods and furniture to the professional, the individual and the websurfer.

Divestment

In 2016, GIRARD-AGEDISS was sold to the 3SI group (Mondial Relay, Dispeo, Mezzo), enabling it to enrich the range of services offered by the 3SI Group to e-retailers in France.

POST-DISASTER INTERVENTION

PHENIX

PHENIX was bought by ARCOLE INDUSTRIES from a major cleaning company, based in the West of France. PHENIX was not considered as a core business for this group and had for many years suffered from underinvestment and an absence of strategy for its development. As a consequence, it had lost market share, and missed market opportunities crucial for its survival. It should also be noted that PHENIX was totally depending on the group to which it belonged for all its support functions, including finance, IT, insurance, real estate, etc.

New support functions

One of the main challenges was therefore to build new support functions to make PHENIX independent from the group to which it belonged, and this at a far lower cost than its previous support functions within the group. This required: i) the recruitment and training of new support function teams) ii) tough rental negotiations for the new premises, iii) the setting up of a totally new IT system adapted to the needs of this medium sized company (versus the former IT system that was suitable for a big group). At the same time, all main contracts were renegotiated (insurance, car fleet, phones, IT contracts, leases, etc.)

Focus on middle management

Being efficient in running a service business particularly relies on having performing and dedicated middle management. Hence, an executive committee was set up, to have service and area managers more implied in the success of the business. A third of the middle management had to be renewed, to give the company a new start. In addition, a large technical training program was implemented to improve competences of the commercial staff and the operators (in particular concerning the industrial activity, reconstruction, and asbestos).

Development of new activities

On a niche-market, it is crucial to find new sources of growth. Hence, several new activities have been developed: i) “emergency response after industrial disaster”, ii) rescuing records solutions, iii) reconstruction and iv) asbestos decontamination. Those activities currently represent over 20% of PHENIX’s turnover.

Thanks to a highly dedicated and motivated team, PHENIX is today profitable and fast-growing, with very promising development perspective ahead.

Contact us

20 rue des Pyramides
75001 paris
Tel: +33 (0)1 85 73 39 80
Fax: +33 (0)1 42 97 41 76
contact@arcole-industries.com

Contact us

20 rue des Pyramides
75001 paris
Tel: +33 (0)1 85 73 39 80
Fax: +33 (0)1 42 97 41 76
contact@arcole-industries.com

Expériences

Les exemples de LAMBERET et GIRARD AGEDISS illustrent la capacité d’ARCOLE INDUSTRIES à assister efficacement ses filiales dans leur redressement et dans la reprise d’un développement solide.

LAMBERET

Le carrossier Européen spécialiste des véhicules frigorifiques, avec une gamme adaptée à tous les moyens de transport, de 1 à 100 m3.

GIRARD AGEDISS

Le leader français de la livraison de produits encombrants et de meubles vers le professionnel, le particulier et l’internaute.

PHENIX

Leader du marché français de l’intervention après sinistres (décontamination des habitations privées et décontamination industrielle, recherche de fuites, remise en état des bâtiments).

Carrosserie industrielle

LAMBERET

Une reprise soutenue par près de 80% des salariés

Le groupe LAMBERET est spécialisé dans la fabrication de carrosseries isothermes (semi-remorques, porteurs et véhicules légers). Le groupe a déposé le bilan à la suite de la crise de l’été 2008 et à l’écroulement de ses ventes qui sont passées de 200 M€ à moins de 75 M€.

Redressement complet et capitalisation

Mené par André Lebrun, Président, et Erick Méjean, Directeur Général, le redressement est passé par le redimensionnement des effectifs, la fiabilisation des produits, une nouvelle segmentation de la gamme, une campagne de communication qui a remporté un franc succès, ainsi que, sur le plan industriel, l’optimisation des processus de production, la simplification des structures, qui a permis de retrouver l’agilité indispensable au le métier de carrossier, et enfin la restructuration des filiales étrangères fortement déficitaires à la reprise. Dans le cadre d’un co-investissement ARCOLE INDUSTRIES/CARAVELLE, LAMBERET a par ailleurs été recapitalisée à hauteur de 12 M€, auquel s’est adjoint un financement en compte courant de 9 M€.

Exploitation positive en moins d’un an

Ces mesures ont rapidement permis à LAMBERET de retrouver la confiance de ses différents partenaires (fournisseurs, distributeurs, clients). En moins d’un an, la société dégageait un résultat d’exploitation positif qui lui permettait de renouer avec la croissance et de développer de nouveaux produits.

Fédérées autour d’un véritable projet d’entreprise, les équipes ont écrit en quelques années parmi les plus belles pages de l’histoire de l’entreprise. L’entreprise a ainsi affiché une croissance affirmée à partir de 2010 et a accumulé les prix et les distinctions.

Prix et distinctions pour le groupe LAMBERET

LAMBERET a reçu le TRAILER AWARD au salon de Courtrai en 2010, le PRIX DE l’INNOVATION au salon Solutrans de Lyon en 2011 ainsi que le TRAILER INNOVATION AWARD au salon de l’IAA qui s’est tenu à Hanovre en 2012. C’est la première fois qu’un carrossier français recevait le prestigieux TRAILER INNOVATION AWARD pour l’un de ses véhicules. Erick Méjean, Directeur Général de LAMBERET, s’est vu remettre le PRIX 2012 du MANAGER de L’ANNEE RHONE ALPES lors de la cérémonie des BFM AWARDS à Lyon.

Le chiffre d’affaires consolidé 2014 de LAMBERET s’est établi à 140 M€, contre 70 M€ en 2009, dont plus de 50 % sont réalisés à l’export.

Cession de la société

Début 2015, LAMBERET a été cédée à un industriel pour accélérer son développement à l’international.

Transport spécialisé

GIRARD AGEDISS

Reprise du groupe et sauvegarde de 622 emplois sur 836

Le groupe GIRARD AGEDISS est un logisticien spécialisé dans le transport de meubles et d’encombrants vers le professionnel et le particulier. Le groupe a été placé en redressement judiciaire en 2010 à la suite du dépôt de bilan de la CAMIF – un des tous premiers clients du groupe – et en raison d’une importante érosion de clients liée à la mise en place hâtive d’un nouveau plan de transport qui a engendré de nombreux problèmes de qualité.

Retour de confiance à la suite de la capitalisation importante du groupe

Afin de le doter d’une surface financière suffisante pour retrouver la confiance de ses différents partenaires (fournisseurs, clients), ARCOLE INDUSTRIES et le FCDE ont capitalisé le groupe GIRARD AGEDISS à hauteur de 11 M€.

Volets social, organisationnel et de réduction des coûts

Après ce volet financier, le redressement de l’entreprise est passé par :
- Un volet social (redimensionnement de l’effectif pour le mettre en adéquation avec le niveau d’activité) ;
- Un volet organisationnel (mise en place d’un plan de transport pragmatique) ;
- Un volet de réduction des coûts.

Exploitation positive atteinte en 15 mois

Ces quatre volets ont rapidement permis au groupe GIRARD-AGEDISS de retrouver en 15 mois une exploitation positive et l’ont conduit à renouer avec la croissance par l’acquisition de nouveaux clients et l’élargissement de son offre de prestations.

En 2012, le groupe GIRARD AGEDISS a réalisé un chiffre d’affaires de 45 M€ avec une exploitation positive.
En 2013, GIRARD AGEDISS a repris les activités de SLS et conforté sa position dans la livraison de meubles et d’encombrants aux particuliers.

Leader français sur son marché

En 2015, avec un chiffre d’affaires annuel de près de 70 M€, GIRARD AGEDISS est le leader français de la livraison de produits encombrants et de meubles vers le professionnel, le particulier et l’internaute.

Cession du groupe

En 2016, GIRARD AGEDISS a été cédée au Groupe 3SI (Mondial Relay, Dispeo, Mezzo) pour enrichir la palette de prestations proposées par le Groupe 3SI aux e-commerçants en France.

solutions après sinistres

PHENIX

ARCOLE INDUSTRIES a acquis PHENIX auprès d’un acteur majeur de la propreté, basé en Bretagne. PHENIX n’était pas considéré comme « core business » par son précédent actionnaire et souffrait depuis plusieurs années de sous-investissement et d’absence de vision stratégique pour son développement. En conséquence, PHENIX avait perdu des parts de marché et raté des opportunités de développement pourtant cruciales. En outre, PHENIX dépendait entièrement de son actionnaire pour toutes ses fonctions « support », en particulier la finance, l’informatique, les assurances, l’immobilier, etc.

Nouvelles fonctions « support »

Un des principaux challenges était donc de reconstruire les fonctions « support » permettant à PHENIX de devenir autonome et cela à un coût sensiblement plus faible que précédemment. Cela nécessita : i) le recrutement et la formation de toute une nouvelle équipe de fonctions « support », ii) la conduite de négociations serrées avec des bailleurs pour les nouveaux locaux, iii) la mise en place d’une nouvelle organisation IT adaptée à la taille de la société , le tout en un temps record. En parallèle, tous les principaux contrats furent renégociés (assurance, flotte véhicules, téléphonie, contrats IT, baux, etc.).

Focus sur le management intermédiaire

Pour être compétitive, une entreprise de service doit disposer d’un management intermédiaire performant et impliqué. C’est pourquoi un comité de direction fut créé, afin que les managers des fonctions « support » et les managers « terrain » soient plus impliqués dans la réussite du redressement et du redéploiement du groupe. Un tiers du management intermédiaire fut renouvelé pour donner un nouvel élan à l’entreprise. De surcroît, un vaste plan de formation (concernant en particulier l’activité industrielle, l’embellissement et le traitement de l’amiante) à destination de l’équipe commerciale et des opérateurs fut mis en œuvre.

Développement de nouvelles activités

Sur un marché de niche, il est important de trouver des nouvelles sources de croissance. C’est pourquoi plusieurs activités furent développées : i) décontamination après sinistres industriels, ii) sauvetage d’archives, iii) embellissement, et iv) décontamination d’environnements amiantés. Ces nouvelles activités représentent aujourd’hui plus de 20% du chiffre d’affaires de PHENIX.

PHENIX, forte d’une équipe particulièrement impliquée et motivée, a aujourd’hui retrouvé la croissance et la rentabilité.

Contactez-nous

20 rue des Pyramides
75001 Paris
Tel: +33 (0) 1 85 73 39 80
Fax: +33 (0) 1 42 97 41 76
contact@arcole-industries.com

Contactez-nous

20 rue des Pyramides
75001 Paris
Tel: +33 (0) 1 85 73 39 80
Fax: +33 (0) 1 42 97 41 76
contact@arcole-industries.com